Library Collections

About our Collections

Books

 

The MiraCosta College Library has a collection of over 58,000 titles maintained between two locations, the Oceanside Campus Library and the San Elijo Campus Library. The books are chosen to complement the college curriculum. An additional 200,000+ titles are available as e-Books through MiraCosta's subscription with e-books on EBSCOhost and other e-book publishers.

 

  • Books circulate for 3 weeks; they may be renewed once.
  • Books in the Bestsellers Collection circulate for 6 weeks, with no renewals.
  • Search the Library Online Catalog for MiraCosta holdings.
  • Inter-Library loan service is available for books held by other Libraries.

Multimedia

 

The collection consists of over 5,800 DVD, video, and CD titles.

 

  • DVDs, videos, and CDs circulate for 1 week; materials may be renewed once. Search the Library Online Catalog for specific titles.
  • The library also owns a small collection of Playaway and CD audio books

Electronic Resources

 

In addition to EBSCOhost (for newspapers, magazines, and journals), MiraCosta College subscribes to several other online databases, and also holds trial subscriptions to others.

 

  • Check our listing of all journals, magazines, and newspapers available through our electronic databases in the our Journals by Title
  • Remote access to all online databases is available to current MiraCosta students, faculty, and staff using SURF id and password.

Magazines and Journals

 

MiraCosta College Library subscribes to over 100 print magazines and journals. Check the Journals A to Z list for titles and available formats and dates. The library has access to over 35,000 magazines and journals through online database subscriptions. Inter-Library loan service is available for articles in titles held by other libraries.


Newspapers

 

MiraCosta College Library subscribes to several newspapers in print. Other newspapers are available in electronic format through EBSCOhost Newspaper Source Plus and ProQuest US Newsstream (National Newspapers).

 

  • Check the Journals A to Z list for titles and available formats and dates.
  • Newspapers and other periodicals do not circulate outside the library.