Skip to Main Content

ENGL 201 (dara)

Essay 1: Classic Plots & Short Stories

Librarian Tips

  • The best library resource for locating your author's biographical information is Gale Literature (also linked below). Search by their name to find credible articles from a variety of sources.
  • Search for articles using the title of your selected story, the name of your selected author, and keywords to describe topics, themes, and theories.
  • Limit your search to Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed/Academic journal articles by checking the box under "Limit your results" in EBSCO. Note: JSTOR is a scholarly journal database, so there is no extra check box for this type of publication.

Finding Scholarly Articles: Suggested Library Databases

EBSCOhost : All Databases

Cross-search all EBSCO databases (over 30); magazines, journals, ebooks, news and primary sources, covering multi-disciplinary topics.

JSTOR

Full-text archives of 1400 scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Gale Literature

Author biographies and interviews, articles about literary works, eras, and themes, literary and cultural analysis, and more. .

More Literature Databases

A list of library databases for research on literature and literary analysis.

Accessing Databases from Off-Campus

  • Use your SURF ID & Password to access databases & eBooks from off-campus.
  • Always start from the Miracosta College Library website or the Student Support Hub: Online Library within Canvas to access library databases. All library databases, A to Z list.