Skip to Main Content

ENGL 201 (dara)

Literary Theory: Group Research Presentation Assignment

Librarian Tips

  • Find scholarly sources (articles, books from scholarly publishers) on your selected school of criticism/literary theory and the themes of your selected play.

Only some of the plays in your text will have scholarly analysis about the specific play published in journals... you need to think beyond the play title when deciding what keywords to search in databases.

  • Find critical analysis and reviews of the play using the databases below.
  • Locate biographical information about the playwright to better understand their perspective.

For contemporary works, consider adding the keyword 'interview' to your search for the playwright to learn more about their intentions with writing the selected play and its productions.

Scholarly Article Databases

EBSCOhost : All Databases

Cross-search all EBSCO databases (over 30); magazines, journals, ebooks, news and primary sources, covering multi-disciplinary topics.

JSTOR

Full-text archives of 1400 scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Gale Databases (cross-search)

Cross-search a large number of Gale databases in one search, or select specialized subject collections for your topic research.

OneSearch

Use OneSearch to locate and access ebooks, articles, print books, DVDs, audiobooks, streaming media, and more.

Gale Literature

Literary criticism primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.

Find Background Information Using Library Databases

Gale eBooks (GVRL Encyclopedias)

This database has brief overview articles on virtually every topic from specialized encyclopedias (highly credible sources for your research!). This is also a good resource for learning the context of a key theme, event, or time period in history associated with your selected play.

Oxford Reference Online

This database has brief overview articles on schools of literary criticism and the various theories from literature encyclopedias (highly credible sources for your research!). This is also a good resource for learning the context of a key theme, event, or time period in history associated with your selected play.

Gale in Context: Biography

This database provides biographical information about both historical and current influential figures. Check here to see if there is biographical information about the playwright to better understand their perspective.

Find Background Information & Theory Overviews Using a Literary Website

Find Background Information using Reference eBooks

Literature & Literary Criticism Databases

Gale Literature (Literary Sources)

Literary criticism primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.

Magill OnLiterature Plus (EBSCOhost)

A premier literary database, combining Magill OnLiterature and Magill OnAuthors.

LitFinder

Includes poems, short stories, essays, plays, and speeches throughout all time periods (full-text and citations).

Literature Criticism Online

Full-text criticism of drama, poetry and short stories.

Literature Resource Center

A comprehensive literature reference database, includes full-text biographical, bibliographical and critical content; antiquity to modern era.

Shortcut to Books

  • Search books all at once from MiraCosta Library's Find Books page
    • Search for books using the play's title, the play author's name, or keywords of the theory you are researching.
    • Items that have the designation "Available Online" are eBooks that can be accessed anywhere with an internet connection.
    • If there is a Print Book you would like to get, remember while we are online only, books may be requested and mailed to your home.

Accessing Databases from Off-Campus

  • Use your SURF ID & Password to access databases & eBooks from off-campus.
  • Always start from the Miracosta College Library website to access databases. All library databases, A to Z list.