Skip to Main Content

ENGL 201 (dara)

Essay 3 Assignment

Librarian Tips

Finding Background Information Using Reference Databases

Gale eBooks (GVRL Encyclopedias)

This database has brief overview articles on virtually every topic from specialized encyclopedias (highly credible sources for your research!). This is also a good resource for learning the context of a key theme, event, or time period in history.

Daily Life Through History (US & World)

Social history database focusing on day-to-day lives of ordinary people, past and present. Includes thousands of sources including primary sources, illustrations and maps. This is a good resource for learning the context of a key theme, event, or time period in history.

America History and Life (EBSCOhost)

Articles on the history and culture of the United States. This is a good resource for learning the context of a key theme, event, or time period in history.

Oxford Reference Online

This database has brief overview articles on literary themes, philosophy, and history/eras from scholarly encyclopedias (highly credible sources for your research!). This is also a good resource for learning the context of a key theme, event, or time period in history.

General Article Databases

EBSCOhost : All Databases

Cross-search all EBSCO databases (over 30); magazines, journals, ebooks, news and primary sources, and media, covering multi-disciplinary topics.

JSTOR

Full-text archives of 1400 scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Gale Databases (cross-search)

Cross-search a large number of Gale databases in one search, or select specialized subject collections for your topic research.

OneSearch

The Library's new OneSearch cross-searches the library's collections. Use OneSearch to locate and access ebooks, articles, print books, DVDs, audiobooks, streaming media, and more.

Accessing Databases from Off-Campus

  • Use your SURF ID & Password to access databases & eBooks from off-campus.
  • Always start from the Miracosta College Library website to access databases. All library databases, A to Z list.