Skip to Main Content

ENGL52/100 (Guinon)

Smart Google Searching

Check out these tips and tricks for Google searching

Search for websites from specified domains (.gov, .edu, .org).

  • For example: statistics AND "black males" site:.edu

Types of Sources

Find Articles

EBSCOhost : all databases

Cross-search all EBSCO databases (over 30); magazines, journals, news and primary sources, and media, covering multi-disciplinary topics.

CQ Researcher

Weekly Congressional Quarterly Press reports offering analysis of most current major controversial issues with summaries, pros and cons, statistics, and bibliographies. CQ Press archives date back to 1991.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context

A social issues database with full-text periodical articles, viewpoint essays, reference material, statistics, topic overviews and websites, organized under popular research topic headings.

Contexts (e-journal)

A quarterly journal offering a thought-provoking take on modern life in our communities. (American Sociological Association; 2002-present)

60 Minutes Archive (1997-2014)

The 60 MINUTES: 1997–2014 collection provides access to the CBS News archives streaming video.

American Mosaic: The African American Experience

A full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora. Includes a wealth of primary sources.

Key Terms

Develop your word bank

  1. Try multiple searches--typing in different keywords (classism, middle class, economic inequality, working class, poverty, socioeconomic status)
  2. Use quotation marks around phrases of two or more words to search the phrase as a whole ("middle class")
  3. Join multiple terms with "and" & "or" ("inequality" and "socioeconomic status")