Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Google Better!!
Use "quotation marks" around "specific phrases" and add site:org, site:edu and site:gov to get more specific results!! Here are some sample searches:
Background & Introductory Databases
- Gale eBooks is a great database for 3-7 page overviews/introductions to a topic, person, or thing. Here are some sample searches/results:
- EBSCOhost: All Databases: MiraCosta Library's largest database for eBooks, journal articles, magazine articles, news sources, and more! Here are some sample searches/results:
Find pro/con viewpoints on social issues and current news
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
A social issues database with full-text periodical articles, viewpoint essays, reference material, statistics, topic overviews and websites, organized under popular research topic headings.
- CQ Researcher
Weekly Congressional Quarterly Press reports offering analysis of most current major controversial issues with summaries, pros and cons, statistics, and bibliographies.
*MiraCosta subscribes to several magazines and newspapers, including The New York Times. Search an article title within the Library's newspaper databases.
Search online magazines with Flipster
Film & Video Databases
MiraCosta Library subscribes to many film and video databases you can use to find documentaries about - and scholars discussing - many different topics. Check out the list of our video databases here!
Find popular movies and documentaries with SWANK and Kanopy Streaming.