Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 201 (Wood)

Tutorials

We Can Help!

Chat with a librarian in real-time 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Your Class Librarian

 

Hal Hannon

rhannon@miracosta.edu

Hal's Chat Hours
Tues: 7-9pm (online and chat)
Thurs: 11am-3pm (on ground and chat)

MLA Style Guide

Learn About the Authors

Helpful Suggestions!

Author Investigation: The Author and the Canon

Write a well-reasoned, thesis-driven argument paper in which you investigate an author with the purpose of making an argument about their continued inclusion in the Western Literary Canon. Link to the Assignment Prompt.

Questions to consider: 

1. Does this author's work bring richness to the Western Literary Canon? In which way?

2. Does this author benefit and contribute to a modern academic conversation? In which way?

3. Does this author deserve to remain in the Western Literary Canon? Why?


Use your SURF ID & Password to access library databases & eBooks from off-campus.

Background & Reference Databases

Literature Databases

  • Gale Literature is an excellent database to access literary criticisms, work overviews, author biographies, etc. of works of literature. 
  • MagillOnLiterature Plus contains biographical essays of over 2,500 popular authors and their works, and writers of fiction, poetry, and drama. 
  • Literature Criticism contains full-text criticisms of drama, poetry and short stories.

Looking for More? Try These:

 

EBSCOhost: 30+ databases all in one: scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks, and more

  • Select checkbox for "Limit your Results" to search Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed/Academic Journal Articles. 

 

 

JSTOR: Search full-text scholarly journals and chapters from eBooks

Two ways to search Literature articles:

1. Narrow by discipline in the Advanced Search and check the box for Language & Literature.

2. Browse by Subject and select Language & Literature under the Humanities heading.


Scholarly Article Checklist:

A source is scholarly if:

  • Author is an expert in the subject and credentials are given, e.g. holds an MA or PhD, works at a university or research institute
  • Includes lengthy references or bibliography to show where the information came from
  • Author uses in-text citations when referring to the research, ideas or quotes of others
  • Presents findings from a research study, case study or in-depth analysis
  • Information is published in a scholarly source, e.g. a journal
  • Publisher (e.g. Elsevier) or organization (e.g. American Medical Association) produces scholarly work
  • Often includes tables, charts and graphs
  • Includes few to no advertisements, and advertisements are clearly labeled as advertisements
  • Articles will usually be long (8 pages or more)
  • Author will use technical or academic words