Skip to Main Content
LIBRARY

ETHN/SOC 207 (Williams) SU 23

Video Tutorials

Before Searching

Google Searching vs Library Database Searching

Google Database

Google is a search engine that indexes web pages from across the internet. It uses natural language algorithms that understand some meaning, so you can use more general search terms to get a wide range of results.

For example, you might search for "books about race and ethnic relations among African Americans" in Google.                                    

Databases are specialized collections of information, often including scholarly articles, books, and other academic sources. Unlike Google, databases do not use algorithms and do not understand meaning. When searching in a database, it's important to structure keywords using a more specific and controlled approach.

For example, you might search for "African Americans AND race relations AND books" in a database.

 

Consider your research topic, and write down several keywords that describe the various aspects of your topic.

Keep the following in mind when searching in a database.

  • Keep your keywords brief and concise.
  • Spelling counts, but capitalization doesn't. Make sure you don't misspell your keywords.
  • Use "quotation marks" to keep words together in a specific order. This is called phrase searching.
    • Example: "black lives matter"

  • Grow your keyword list with words you read in abstracts, article titles, and subject headings

Keep in mind that database searching is not an exact science, and you'll need to experiment with different combinations of keywords to get the best results.

Boolean Searching Explained

The "AND" operator narrows down search results by requiring all specified keywords to be present in the search results. It helps to find resources that include both terms, allowing for more focused and precise results.

Examples:

  • race AND "ethnic relations"

Retrieves resources that contain both the words "race" and "ethnic relations." This search will locate sources specifically focused on the intersection of race and ethnic relations.

  • "African American" AND discrimination

Finds resources that discuss the experiences of African Americans in relation to discrimination.

The "OR" operator broadens search results by including either one or both of the specified keywords. It helps to find resources that include at least one of the terms, expanding the scope of the search and the number of results.

Examples:

  • race OR ethnicity

Retrieves resources that discuss either race or ethnicity. This search will broaden the scope and help students find materials that cover either concept.

  • Asian OR "Pacific Islander"

Finds resources related to either Asian or Pacific Islander communities, helping students explore materials that address the experiences of these specific groups
                                                            

The "NOT" operator excludes specific keywords from the search results that contain certain terms, allowing for more targeted results.

Examples:

  • race NOT nationality

Retrieves resources about race but excludes any that discuss nationality. This search can be useful when focusing specifically on the racial aspect of the topic.

  • Latino NOT Mexican

Finds resources related to the broader Latino community but excludes materials that focus solely on Mexican experiences.

Recommended Databases (SURF ID & Password needed for off campus access)

Gale Ebooks

Reference database containing eBooks, encyclopedias, and specialized sources for research in almost all subjects

OneSearch

The Library's new OneSearch cross-searches various library collections. Use OneSearch to locate and access ebooks, articles, print books, DVDs, audiobooks, streaming media, and more.

EBSCOhost : All Databases

Cross-search all EBSCO databases (over 30); magazines, journals, news and primary sources, and media, covering multi-disciplinary topics.

JSTOR

Full-text archives of 1400 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.