APA Citation & Style Guide

Database Examples

 

ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER

Journal Article With DOI (Digital Object Identifier)

Manera, V., Schouten, B., Verfaille, K. & Becchio, C. (2013). Time will show: Real

      time predictions during interpersonal action perception. PLoS ONE8(1), 1-6.

      doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0054949

Journal Article Without DOI

Madley, S. & Jilek, L. (2012). Attachment style and dissolution of romantic

      relationships: Breaking up is hard to do, or is it? Individual Differences

      Research10(4), 202-210. Retrieved from http://www.idr-journal.com/

 

Magazine Article

Guerrero, A. (2013, February 1). Getting social for a job interview. U.S. News Digital

      Weekly5(5), 20. Retrieved from http://www.usnews.com

 

Newspaper Article

Baig, E. C. (2012, January 20). Apple looks to transform e-textbooks. USA Today.

      Retrieved from http://www.usatoday.com


ARTSTOR

Gurney, J. (Photographer). (1871). Portrait (front) of Bird Chief in native dress

       with ornaments [Photograph]. National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian

       Institution, Suitland. Retrieved from http://library.artstor.org


BRITANNICA ONLINE

Encyclopedia Entry

Black death. (2010). In Encyclopaedia Britannica. Retrieved from http://www.eb.com

 

Merriam-Webster Dictionary Entry

Opportunistic. (2010). In Merriam-Webster’s collegiate dictionary (11th ed.).

       Retrieved from http://www.eb.com


COUNTRYWATCH

Map

Antigua and Barbuda [Map]. (2010). In CountryWatch. Retrieved from

       http://www.countrywatch.com

Country Review

Antigua. (2010). In CountryWatch. Retrieved from http://www.countrywatch.com


CQ RESEARCHER

Glazer, S. (2006, April 14). Future of feminism. CQ Researcher16, 313-336.

       Retrieved from http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/cqresrre2006041400

 


 EBOOK COLLECTION (EBSCOHOST)

Book

Schultz, J. E. (2004). Women at the front: Hospital workers in Civil War America.

       Retrieved from http://www.ebscohost.com

 

Reference Book (Encyclopedia, Dictionary, etc.)

Hanson, M. (2000). Deep ecology. In L. Code (Ed.), Encyclopedia of feminist

       theories. Retrieved from http://www.ebscohost.com


EBSCOHOST DATABASES 

Magazine

Fishburne, R. (2011, June). California Surf Museum. Smithsonian42(3), 54-55.

      Retrieved from http://www.smithsonianmag.si.edu

 

Academic Journal Without DOI

Adams, P. N., Inman, D. L., & Graham, N. E. (2008). Southern California

      deep-water wave climate: Characterization and application to coastal

      processes. Journal of Coastal Research24(4), 1022-1035.

      Retrieved from http://www.publishing.allenpress.com

 

Academic Journal With DOI

Hayakawa, M. (2013). Possible electromagnetic effects on abnormal animal

      behavior before an earthquake. Animals3(1), 19-32. doi:10.3390/ani3010019

 

Newspaper article

Carlson, C. (2013, May 7). Officials estimate Springs Fire cost $10 million.

      Ventura County Star. Retrieved from http://www.vcstar.com

 

eBook

Coerver, D. M., Pasztor, S. B., & Buffington, R. (2004). Mexico: An encyclopedia

      of contemporary culture and history. Retrieved from www.ebscohost.com


FILMS ON DEMAND

Films Media Group. (2012). Lifelong physical activity [Video file]. Retrieved from 

      http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=14798&xtid=48966


GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY

Harrison, J. (2003). American Ballet Theatre. In S. I. Kutler (Ed.), Dictionary of

       American history (Vol. 1, 3rd ed.). Retrieved from http://go.galegroup.com/


GLOBAL ISSUES IN CONTEXT

Academic Journals

Scott, J., & Marshall, G. J. (2010). A step-change in the date of

     sea-ice breakup in western Hudson Bay. Arctic, 63(2): 155-164.

      Retrieved from http://arctic.ucalgary.ca/publications/arctic-journal

 

Global Viewpoints

Australia's claim to icy Antarctica. (2011, August 11). Manila Bulletin, Retrieved  

     from http://www.mb.com.ph/main.php

 

News

Australia: Australian Government commits to Antarctica. (2013, May 14).     

     Mena Report. Retrieved from http://www.menareport.com

 

Magazines

The big melt. (2001, February 12). Maclean's, 36. Retrieved  from          

     http://www2.macleans.ca/

 

References

Antarctica. (2012). In T. L. Gall & S. B. Gall (Eds.), Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia

     of the Nations. Retrieved  from http://www.gale.cengage.com/


GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Menard, K. L., & Grossman, A. D. (2013). Selective pressures to maintain attachment

     site specificity of integrative and conjugative elements. PLoS Genetics9(7), e1003623.

     doi:10.1371/journal.pgen.1003623

 

Healy, P. (2013). Overcoming incommensurability through intercultural dialogue.

     Cosmos and History: The Journal of Natural and Social Philosophy9(1), 265-281.

     Retrieved from http://www.cosmosandhistory.org


HEALTH & WELLNESS RESOURCE CENTER

Medical Encyclopedia Entry

Gulli, L. F., Nasser, B.,  & Odle, T. G. (2007). Abuse. In The Gale encyclopedia of

       medicine (3rd ed.). Retrieved from http://go.galegroup.com/

 

Medical Dictionary Definition

Neurobiology. (1998). In Mosby's medical, nursing, and allied health dictionary

       (5th ed.). Retrieved from http://go.galegroup.com

 

Journal Article

Ubesia, A. C., Emodi, I. J., & Ikefuna, A. N. (2010). High incidence of transfusion-related

       HIV infection in Nigeria. The Internet Journal of Hematology, 7(1). Retrieved from

       http://www.ispub.com/journal/the_internet_journal_of_hematology.html 

 

Matei, D., & Matei, R. (2008). Detection of diabetic symptoms in retina images using

       analog algorithms. International Journal of Biological and Life Sciences, 6(4),

       244-248. Retrieved from http://www.biolsci.org/

 

Newspaper Article

Nowak, R. (2007, March 6). Older moms: Births for U. S. women 40-44 years old rise

       70 percent between 1991-2000. The Buffalo News. Retrieved from

       http://www.buffalonews.com/


JSTOR

Journal Article - One Author

Fonjong, L. (2001). Fostering women’s participation in development through

       non-governmental efforts in Cameroon. The Geographical Journal, 167(3),

       223-234. Retrieved from http://www.wiley.com/bw/journal.asp?ref=0016-7398

 

Journal Article - Two Authors

Zhang, H., & Merikangas, K. (2000). A frailty model of segregation analysis:

       Understanding the familial transmission of alcoholism. Biometrics, 56(3), 815-823.

       Retrieved from http://www.biometrics.tibs.org/

 

Journal Article - Three to Seven Authors

Skov, M. W., Hartnoll, R. G., Ruwa, R. K., Shunula, J. P., Vannini, M., & Cannicci, S.

       (2005). Marching to a different drummer: Crabs synchronize reproduction to a

       14-month lunar-tidal cycle. Ecology, 86(5), 1164-1171. Retrieved from

       http://www.esajournals.org/loi/ecol

 

Journal Article - Eight or More Authors

Faden, R. R., Dawson, L., Bateman-House, A. S., Agnew, D. M., Bok, H., Brock,

       D. W., . . . Gearhart, J. D. (2003). Public stem cell banks: Stem cell research

       and therapy. The Hastings Center Report, 33(6), 13-27. Retrieved from

       http://www.thehastingscenter.org/Publications/HCR/Default.aspx


LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE

Journal Article

Stone, C. D. (2008). Is environmentalism dead? Environmental Law, 38(19).

       Retrieved from http://www.elawreview.org/elaw/

 

Magazine Article

Adler, J. (2007, March 5). How to design a healthier planet. Newsweek, 66.

       Retrieved from http://www.newsweek.com/

 

Newspaper Article

De Lollis, B., Yu, R., & Copeland, L. (2008, April 16). Fliers worry about higher

       fares: On the upside, many hope flight capacity will rise. USA Today.

       Retrieved from http://www.usatoday.com/

 

Transcript (Radio or Television)

Coming Soon

 

SEC Filing

U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission. (2006). San Diego Gas & Electric:

       10-K. Retrieved from http://www.sec.gov/edgar/searchedgar/webusers.htm

 

Court Case

Perfect 10 v. Amazon.com, 487 F.3d 701 (U.S. App. Ct. 9th Cir. 2006). Retrieved from

       http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/lnacademic

 

Newswire Article

Sesame Street coaches kids through parent’s deployments, returns. (2008, April 29).  

       Regulatory Intelligence Data. Retrieved from http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/

       lnacademic


Company Records

Hoover’s. (2010, March 23). Pixar Animation Studios, Inc. Hoover’s Company Records –

       Basic Record. Retrieved from http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/lnacademic


LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER

Journal Article (Literature Criticism tab)

McMillan, L. (2004). Telling a critical story: Alice Walker’s In Search of Our Mother’s

       Gardens. Journal of Modern Literature, 28(1), 107-123. Retrieved from

       http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/jml/

 

Author Biography (Biographies tab)

Sarah Waters. (2009). In Contemporary authors online. Retrieved from  

       http://go.galegroup.com


MASTERFILE PREMIER

Academic Journal

Agrawal, A., & Bierut, L. J. (2012) Identifying genetic variation for alcohol dependence.

      Alcohol Research: Current Reviews 34(3), 274-281. Retrieved from

      http://www.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/journals-and-reports/alcohol-research


Magazine Article

Gerazi, S. (2013, June). Star-shredding black holes. Sky and Telescope, 125(6),

      16-22. Retrieved from http://www.skyandtelescope.com/


Newspaper Article

Davis, C.M. (2012, May 17). Rethinking breast cancer tests for African-American women.

      New York Amsterdam News.  Retrieved from http://www.amsterdamnews.com/


MUSIC ONLINE

Cage, J. (1940). Bacchanale [Recorded by P. Vandre]. On John Cage: Complete short works

     for prepared piano [CD]. New York: Mode Records. (April 5, 1944). Retrieved from

     http://muco.alexanderstreet.com.prox.miracosta.edu/View/750880

 

Gordon, M., & Warren, H. (1999). At last [Recorded by E. James]. On 20th Century masters:

      The millennium collection: The best of Etta James [MP3 file]. [s.l.]: Geffen. Retrieved

      from http://muco.alexanderstreet.com/View/682126


OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS IN CONTEXT

Viewpoint Essay

Maich, S. (2010). The fight against AIDS could be won with more government money.

       In N. Harris (Ed.), AIDS in Developing Countries. San Diego, CA: Greenhaven Press.

       Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/ovic

 

Reference Source

Simon, W. (2001). Sexual orientation. In E. F. Borgatta & R. J. V. Montgomery (Eds.),

       Encyclopedia of sociology (2nd ed.). New York: Macmillan Reference USA.

       Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/ovic

 

 Newspaper Article

Powers, P. (2005, December 23). Hedwig pushes the envelope, teaches acceptance.  

       The Leader-Telegram. Retrieved from http://www.leadertelegram.com


OXFORD REFERENCE ONLINE

Reference Source With Author

Holberton, P. (2003). Renaissance. In H. Brigstocke (Ed.), The Oxford companion to

      Western art. Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com

 

Reference Source Without Author

Quito. (2012). In World encyclopedia. Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com
 

Dictionary entry

Library. (2012). In A. Stevenson (Ed.), Oxford dictionary of English (3rd ed.).

      Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com


PROQUEST

Newspaper Article

Wood, A. R. (2005, December 23). Majestic, mysterious, monstrous. The Philadelphia

       Inquirer. Retrieved from http://www.philly.com

New York Times Historical Newspapers

Grutzner, C. (1952, July 3). Creek into Hudson to be cleaned up. The New York

       Times. Retrieved from http://www.newyorktimes.com


PSYCARTICLES

Walsh, R. (2001). Positive psychology: East and West. American Psychologist,

       61(1), 83-84. doi:10.1037/0003-066X.56.1.83


SCIENCE IN CONTEXT

Reference Article with Author  

Nasr, A. H. (2009). Human genome programs. In K. L. Lerner & B. W. Lerner (Eds.),

       World of genetics. Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/scic

 

Reference Article with No Author

Human evolution. (2007). In K. A. McGrath & B. Travers (Eds.), World of scientific

       discovery. Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/scic

 

Journal Article

Poon, P. C., Kuo, T., Linford, N. J., Roman, G., & Pletcher, S. D. (2010). Carbon dioxide

       sensing modulates lifespan and physiology in drosophila. Pl o S Biology, 8(4).  

       doi:10.1371/journal.pbio.1000356

 

Magazine Article

Poole, R. (2006, February). Heartbreak on the Serengeti: Wildebeests and wattled

       starlings begin their annual migration at the edge of the Serengeti Plain, where

       humans live in wary coexistence with their wild neighbors. National Geographic,

       209(2), 2-29. Retrieved from http://www.nationalgeographic.com

 

Newspaper Article

Fackler, M. (2007, January 6). Japan offers a lesson in using technology to reduce

       energy consumption. The New York Times. Retrieved from

       http://www.newyorktimes.com

 

Dictionary Definition

Synesthesia. (2010). In Gale science glossary. Retrieved from  

       http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/scic  


SPRINGER EBOOKS

eBook

Elame, E. (2013). Discriminatory bullying: A new intercultural challenge.

      Retrieved from http://link.springer.com

Reference eBook

Nambu, Atsushi (2013). Dystonia. In D. W. Pfaff (Ed.), Neuroscience in the

     21st century (pp. 1143-1148). Retrieved from http://link.springer.com


U.S. HISTORY IN CONTEST

Reference Article with Author

Smith, T. D. (2008). Civil War. In O. V. Burton (Ed.), Gale library

      of daily life: Slavery in America (Vol. 2, pp. 266-269).

      Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/uhic
 

Reference Article Without Author

Abraham Lincoln. (1998). In Encyclopedia of World Biography.

     Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/uhic
 

Journal Article

Vachon, P. (2012). Carnegie's legacy of libraries. Michigan History Magazine, 96(3),

      21-26. Retrieved from http://www.hsmichigan.org/michiganhistory/
 

Magazine Article

Sullivan, A. (2011, October 31). You say you want a revolution. Newsweek, 158(18),

      39. Retrieved from http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek/
 

Newspaper Article

Horn, J. (2013, May 4). Consuming colonists. The New York Times. Retrieved from

http://www.newyorktimes.com

 

Definition

Boilerplate. (2005). In S. Phelps & J. Lehman (Eds.), West's encyclopedia of American

      law (2nd ed., Vol. 2, p. 72). Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/uhic


WORLD HISTORY IN CONTEXT

Reference Article with Author

Wotipka, C. M. (2005). Human rights: Women’s rights. In M. C. Horwitz (Ed.), New

      dictionary of the history of ideas (Vol. 3, pp. 1019-1921).

      Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/whic


Reference Article Without Author

Human rights since 1949 (2009). In D. Pong (Ed.),  Encyclopedia of modern China

      (Vol. 2, pp. 268-271). Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/whic


Journal Article

Bhattacharya, R. & Lowenberg, A. D. (2010). Impact of apartheid on economic growth:

      Implications and empirical evidence from South Africa. Comparative Economic

      Studies, 52, 38-61. Retrieved from http://www.palgrave-journals.com/ces


Magazine Article

Touchable; Caste in India. (2011, October 22). The Economist, 50. Retrieved from http://www.economist.com


Newspaper Article

Luckhurst, R. (2013, April 5).  The curse of Tutankhamen? Pure invention. The Telegraph Online.

      Retrieved from http://www.telegraph.co.uk/

ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER

Journal Article With DOI (Digital Object Identifier)

Manera, V., Schouten, B., Verfaille, K. & Becchio, C. (2013). Time will show: Real

      time predictions during interpersonal action perception. PLoS ONE8(1) 1-6.

      doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0054949

 

Journal Article Without DOI

Madley, S. & Jilek, L. (2012). Attachment style and dissolution of romantic

      relationships: Breaking up is hard to do, or is it? Individual Differences

      Research10(4), 202-210. Retrieved from http://www.idr-journal.com/

 

Magazine Article

Guerrero, A. (2013, February 1). Getting social for a job interview. U.S. News Digital

      Weekly5(5), 20. Retrieved from http://www.usnews.com

 

Newspaper Article

Baig, E. C. (2012, January 20). Apple looks to transform e-textbooks. USA Today.

      Retrieved from http://www.usatoday.com


ARTSTOR

Gurney, J. (Photographer). (1871). Portrait (front) of Bird Chief in native dress

       with ornaments [Photograph]. National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian

       Institution, Suitland. Retrieved from http://library.artstor.org


BRITANNICA ONLINE

Encyclopedia Entry

Black death. (2010). In Encyclopaedia Britannica. Retrieved from http://www.eb.com

 

Merriam-Webster Dictionary Entry

Opportunistic. (2010). In Merriam-Webster’s collegiate dictionary (11th ed.).

       Retrieved from http://www.eb.com


COUNTRYWATCH

Map

Antigua and Barbuda [Map]. (2010). In CountryWatch. Retrieved from

       http://www.countrywatch.com

Country Review

Antigua. (2010). In CountryWatch. Retrieved from http://www.countrywatch.com


CQ RESEARCHER

Glazer, S. (2006, April 14). Future of feminism. CQ Researcher16, 313-336.

       Retrieved from http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/cqresrre2006041400


CREDO REFERENCE

Berlin Wall. (2005). In Germany and the Americas: Culture, politics, and history.

      Retrieved from www.credoreference.com

EBOOK COLLECTION (EBSCOHOST)

Book

Schultz, J. E. (2004). Women at the front: Hospital workers in Civil War America.

       Retrieved from http://www.ebscohost.com

 

Reference Book (Encyclopedia, Dictionary, etc.)

Hanson, M. (2000). Deep ecology. In L. Code (Ed.), Encyclopedia of feminist

       theories. Retrieved from http://www.ebscohost.com


EBSCOHOST DATABASES 

Magazine

Fishburne, R. (2011, June). California Surf Museum. Smithsonian42(3), 54-55.

      Retrieved from http://www.smithsonianmag.si.edu

 

Academic Journal Without DOI

Adams, P. N., Inman, D. L., & Graham, N. E. (2008). Southern California

      deep-water wave climate: Characterization and application to coastal

      processes. Journal of Coastal Research24(4), 1022-1035.

      Retrieved from http://www.publishing.allenpress.com

 

Academic Journal With DOI

Hayakawa, M. (2013). Possible electromagnetic effects on abnormal animal

      behavior before an earthquake. Animals3(1), 19-32. doi:10.3390/ani3010019

 

Newspaper article

Carlson, C. (2013, May 7). Officials estimate Springs Fire cost $10 million.

      Ventura County Star. Retrieved from http://www.vcstar.com

 

eBook

Coerver, D. M., Pasztor, S. B., & Buffington, R. (2004). Mexico: An encyclopedia

      of contemporary culture and history. Retrieved from www.ebscohost.com


FILMS ON DEMAND

Films Media Group. (2012). Lifelong physical activity [Video file]. Retrieved from 

      http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=14798&xtid=48966

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY

Harrison, J. (2003). American Ballet Theatre. In S. I. Kutler (Ed.), Dictionary of

       American history (Vol. 1, 3rd ed.). Retrieved from http://go.galegroup.com/


GLOBAL ISSUES IN CONTEXT

Academic Journals

Scott, J., & Marshall, G. J. (2010). A step-change in the date of

     sea-ice breakup in western Hudson Bay. Arctic, 63(2): 155-164.

      Retrieved from http://arctic.ucalgary.ca/publications/arctic-journal

 

Global Viewpoints

Australia's claim to icy Antarctica. (2011, August 11). Manila Bulletin, Retrieved  

     from http://www.mb.com.ph/main.php

 

News

Australia: Australian Government commits to Antarctica. (2013, May 14).     

     Mena Report. Retrieved from http://www.menareport.com

 

Magazines

The big melt. (2001, February 12). Maclean's, 36. Retrieved  from          

     http://www2.macleans.ca/

 

References

Antarctica. (2012). In T. L. Gall & S. B. Gall (Eds.), Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia

     of the Nations. Retrieved  from http://www.gale.cengage.com/


GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Menard, K. L., & Grossman, A. D. (2013). Selective pressures to maintain attachment

     site specificity of integrative and conjugative elements. PLoS Genetics9(7), e1003623.

     doi:10.1371/journal.pgen.1003623

 

Healy, P. (2013). Overcoming incommensurability through intercultural dialogue.

     Cosmos and History: The Journal of Natural and Social Philosophy9(1), 265-281.

     Retrieved from http://www.cosmosandhistory.org


HEALTH & WELLNESS RESOURCE CENTER

Medical Encyclopedia Entry

Gulli, L. F., Nasser, B.,  & Odle, T. G. (2007). Abuse. In The Gale encyclopedia of

       medicine (3rd ed.). Retrieved from http://go.galegroup.com/

 

Medical Dictionary Definition

Neurobiology. (1998). In Mosby's medical, nursing, and allied health dictionary

       (5th ed.). Retrieved from http://go.galegroup.com

 

Journal Article

Ubesia, A. C., Emodi, I. J., & Ikefuna, A. N. (2010). High incidence of transfusion-related

       HIV infection in Nigeria. The Internet Journal of Hematology, 7(1). Retrieved from

       http://www.ispub.com/journal/the_internet_journal_of_hematology.html 

 

Matei, D., & Matei, R. (2008). Detection of diabetic symptoms in retina images using

       analog algorithms. International Journal of Biological and Life Sciences, 6(4),

       244-248. Retrieved from http://www.biolsci.org/

 

Newspaper Article

Nowak, R. (2007, March 6). Older moms: Births for U. S. women 40-44 years old rise

       70 percent between 1991-2000. The Buffalo News. Retrieved from

       http://www.buffalonews.com/

JSTOR

Journal Article - One Author

Fonjong, L. (2001). Fostering women’s participation in development through

       non-governmental efforts in Cameroon. The Geographical Journal, 167(3),

       223-234. Retrieved from http://www.wiley.com/bw/journal.asp?ref=0016-7398

 

Journal Article - Two Authors

Zhang, H., & Merikangas, K. (2000). A frailty model of segregation analysis:

       Understanding the familial transmission of alcoholism. Biometrics, 56(3), 815-823.

       Retrieved from http://www.biometrics.tibs.org/

 

Journal Article - Three to Seven Authors

Skov, M. W., Hartnoll, R. G., Ruwa, R. K., Shunula, J. P., Vannini, M., & Cannicci, S.

       (2005). Marching to a different drummer: Crabs synchronize reproduction to a

       14-month lunar-tidal cycle. Ecology, 86(5), 1164-1171. Retrieved from

       http://www.esajournals.org/loi/ecol

 

Journal Article - Eight or More Authors

Faden, R. R., Dawson, L., Bateman-House, A. S., Agnew, D. M., Bok, H., Brock,

       D. W., . . . Gearhart, J. D. (2003). Public stem cell banks: Stem cell research

       and therapy. The Hastings Center Report, 33(6), 13-27. Retrieved from

       http://www.thehastingscenter.org/Publications/HCR/Default.aspx


LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE

Journal Article

Stone, C. D. (2008). Is environmentalism dead? Environmental Law, 38(19).

       Retrieved from http://www.elawreview.org/elaw/

 

Magazine Article

Adler, J. (2007, March 5). How to design a healthier planet. Newsweek, 66.

       Retrieved from http://www.newsweek.com/

 

Newspaper Article

De Lollis, B., Yu, R., & Copeland, L. (2008, April 16). Fliers worry about higher

       fares: On the upside, many hope flight capacity will rise. USA Today.

       Retrieved from http://www.usatoday.com/

 

Transcript (Radio or Television)

Coming Soon

 

SEC Filing

U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission. (2006). San Diego Gas & Electric:

       10-K. Retrieved from http://www.sec.gov/edgar/searchedgar/webusers.htm

 

Court Case

Perfect 10 v. Amazon.com, 487 F.3d 701 (U.S. App. Ct. 9th Cir. 2006). Retrieved from

       http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/lnacademic

 

Newswire Article

Sesame Street coaches kids through parent’s deployments, returns. (2008, April 29).  

       Regulatory Intelligence Data. Retrieved from http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/

       lnacademic


Company Records

Hoover’s. (2010, March 23). Pixar Animation Studios, Inc. Hoover’s Company Records –

       Basic Record. Retrieved from http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/lnacademic


LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER

Journal Article (Literature Criticism tab)

McMillan, L. (2004). Telling a critical story: Alice Walker’s In Search of Our Mother’s

       Gardens. Journal of Modern Literature, 28(1), 107-123. Retrieved from

       http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/jml/

 

Author Biography (Biographies tab)

Sarah Waters. (2009). In Contemporary authors online. Retrieved from  

       http://go.galegroup.com

MASTERFILE PREMIER

Academic Journal

Agrawal, A., & Bierut, L. J. (2012) Identifying genetic variation for alcohol dependence.

      Alcohol Research: Current Reviews 34(3), 274-281. Retrieved from

      http://www.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/journals-and-reports/alcohol-research


Magazine Article

Gerazi, S. (2013, June). Star-shredding black holes. Sky and Telescope, 125(6),

      16-22. Retrieved from http://www.skyandtelescope.com/


Newspaper Article

Davis, C.M. (2012, May 17). Rethinking breast cancer tests for African-American women.

      New York Amsterdam News.  Retrieved from http://www.amsterdamnews.com/


MUSIC ONLINE

Cage, J. (1940). Bacchanale [Recorded by P. Vandre]. On John Cage: Complete short works

     for prepared piano [CD]. New York: Mode Records. (April 5, 1944). Retrieved from

     http://muco.alexanderstreet.com.prox.miracosta.edu/View/750880

 

Gordon, M., & Warren, H. (1999). At last [Recorded by E. James]. On 20th Century masters:

      The millennium collection: The best of Etta James [MP3 file]. [s.l.]: Geffen. Retrieved

      from http://muco.alexanderstreet.com/View/682126


OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS IN CONTEXT

Viewpoint Essay

Maich, S. (2010). The fight against AIDS could be won with more government money.

       In N. Harris (Ed.), AIDS in Developing Countries. San Diego, CA: Greenhaven Press.

       Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/ovic

 

Reference Source

Simon, W. (2001). Sexual orientation. In E. F. Borgatta & R. J. V. Montgomery (Eds.),

       Encyclopedia of sociology (2nd ed.). New York: Macmillan Reference USA.

       Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/ovic

 

 Newspaper Article

Powers, P. (2005, December 23). Hedwig pushes the envelope, teaches acceptance.  

       The Leader-Telegram. Retrieved from http://www.leadertelegram.com


OXFORD REFERENCE ONLINE

Reference Source With Author

Holberton, P. (2003). Renaissance. In H. Brigstocke (Ed.), The Oxford companion to

      Western art. Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com

 

Reference Source Without Author

Quito. (2012). In World encyclopedia. Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com
 

Dictionary entry

Library. (2012). In A. Stevenson (Ed.), Oxford dictionary of English (3rd ed.).

      Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com


PROQUEST

Newspaper Article

Wood, A. R. (2005, December 23). Majestic, mysterious, monstrous. The Philadelphia

       Inquirer. Retrieved from http://www.philly.com

 

 

New York Times Historical Newspapers

Grutzner, C. (1952, July 3). Creek into Hudson to be cleaned up. The New York

       Times. Retrieved from http://www.newyorktimes.com


PSYCARTICLES

Walsh, R. (2001). Positive psychology: East and West. American Psychologist,

       61(1), 83-84. doi:10.1037/0003-066X.56.1.83

SCIENCE IN CONTEXT

Reference Article with Author  

Nasr, A. H. (2009). Human genome programs. In K. L. Lerner & B. W. Lerner (Eds.),

       World of genetics. Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/scic

 

Reference Article with No Author

Human evolution. (2007). In K. A. McGrath & B. Travers (Eds.), World of scientific

       discovery. Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/scic

 

Journal Article

Poon, P. C., Kuo, T., Linford, N. J., Roman, G., & Pletcher, S. D. (2010). Carbon dioxide

       sensing modulates lifespan and physiology in drosophila. Pl o S Biology, 8(4).  

       doi:10.1371/journal.pbio.1000356

 

Magazine Article

Poole, R. (2006, February). Heartbreak on the Serengeti: Wildebeests and wattled

       starlings begin their annual migration at the edge of the Serengeti Plain, where

       humans live in wary coexistence with their wild neighbors. National Geographic,

       209(2), 2-29. Retrieved from http://www.nationalgeographic.com

 

Newspaper Article

Fackler, M. (2007, January 6). Japan offers a lesson in using technology to reduce

       energy consumption. The New York Times. Retrieved from

       http://www.newyorktimes.com

 

Dictionary Definition

Synesthesia. (2010). In Gale science glossary. Retrieved from  

       http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/scic


SPRINGER EBOOKS

eBook

Elame, E. (2013). Discriminatory bullying: A new intercultural challenge.

      Retrieved from http://link.springer.com

Reference eBook

Nambu, Atsushi (2013). Dystonia. In D. W. Pfaff (Ed.), Neuroscience in the

     21st century (pp. 1143-1148). Retrieved from http://link.springer.com


U.S. HISTORY IN CONTEST

Reference Article with Author

Smith, T. D. (2008). Civil War. In O. V. Burton (Ed.), Gale library

      of daily life: Slavery in America (Vol. 2, pp. 266-269).

      Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/uhic
 

Reference Article Without Author

Abraham Lincoln. (1998). In Encyclopedia of World Biography.

     Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/uhic
 

Journal Article

Vachon, P. (2012). Carnegie's legacy of libraries. Michigan History Magazine, 96(3),

      21-26. Retrieved from http://www.hsmichigan.org/michiganhistory/
 

Magazine Article

Sullivan, A. (2011, October 31). You say you want a revolution. Newsweek, 158(18),

      39. Retrieved from http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek/
 

Newspaper Article

Horn, J. (2013, May 4). Consuming colonists. The New York Times. Retrieved from

http://www.newyorktimes.com

 

Definition

Boilerplate. (2005). In S. Phelps & J. Lehman (Eds.), West's encyclopedia of American

      law (2nd ed., Vol. 2, p. 72). Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/uhic


WORLD HISTORY IN CONTEXT

Reference Article with Author

Wotipka, C. M. (2005). Human rights: Women’s rights. In M. C. Horwitz (Ed.), New

      dictionary of the history of ideas (Vol. 3, pp. 1019-1921).

      Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/whic


Reference Article Without Author

Human rights since 1949 (2009). In D. Pong (Ed.),  Encyclopedia of modern China

      (Vol. 2, pp. 268-271). Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/whic


Journal Article

Bhattacharya, R. & Lowenberg, A. D. (2010). Impact of apartheid on economic growth:

      Implications and empirical evidence from South Africa. Comparative Economic

      Studies, 52, 38-61. Retrieved from http://www.palgrave-journals.com/ces


Magazine Article

Touchable; Caste in India. (2011, October 22). The Economist, 50. Retrieved from http://www.economist.com


Newspaper Article

Luckhurst, R. (2013, April 5).  The curse of Tutankhamen? Pure invention. The Telegraph Online.

      Retrieved from http://www.telegraph.co.uk/

Loading