Skip to Main Content

LGBTQ Resources

Find Books & eBooks

A Positive View of LGBTQ
When I Grow Up I Want to Be a List of Further Possibilities
Latina Lesbian Writers and Artists
Restoried Selves : Autobiographies of Queer Asian / Pacific American Activists
Fashioning Lives : Black Queers and the Politics of Literacy
Butterfly Boy : Memories of a Chicano Mariposa
Eminent Maricones : Arenas, Lorca, Puig, and Me
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies
Safe Spaces: Making Schools and Communities Welcoming to LGBT Youth
Coming Out, Coming Home : Helping Families Adjust to a Gay or Lesbian Child
The Story of Sexual Identity : Narrative Perspectives on the Gay and Lesbian Life Course
LGBTQ Events
Trans* in College : Transgender Students' Strategies for Navigating Campus Life and the Institutional Politics of Inclusion
Travels in a Gay Nation : Portraits of LGBTQ Americans
Fair Play : How LGBT Athletes Are Claiming Their Rightful Place in Sports
Proud Heritage: People, Issues, and Documents of the LGBT Experience
Trans/Portraits : Voices From Transgender Communities

Start Your Research with Library Databases

LGBT Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost)

Full-text coverage for the most important literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Offers scholarly, popular and regional resources, in journals, books, magazines and more.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940

Largest collection available on sexuality, gender, and LGBTQ studies; global in scope. 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities worldwide.

GenderWatch

Historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications and books, as well as NGO, government and special reports.

Gale OneFile: Gender Studies

Periodicals supporting research on aspects of gender in culture and society.

LGBT (JSTOR)

Full-text archives of 1400 scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

EBSCOhost : All Databases

Cross-search all EBSCO databases (over 30); magazines, journals, ebooks, news and primary sources, covering multi-disciplinary topics.

Gale Archives Unbound

Gale Archives Unbound collections are primary sources. MiraCosta College Library has access to collections covering African American Studies, American Indian Studies, Asian American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, LGBT Studies, and Women's Studies.

Watch Films

LGBT Studies (Film Platform)

Documentary films curated by film experts and leading academics to showcase meaningful works of social, political, and cultural importance by some of the world's top international film-makers.

LGBT Studies (Academic Video Online)

Over 35,000 full-length videos in over 20 disciplines.

Gender & Sexuality (Films on Demand)

Educational films and documentaries grouped into subject-specific categories.

LGBTQ (Films on Demand)

Educational films and documentaries grouped into subject-specific categories.

Read Current Issues of Magazines

Advocate
Out

Support at MiraCosta College

MiraCosta College has an expressed commitment to equity and inclusion for students, faculty and staff members who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer/questioning, intersex, and asexual (LGBTQIA). 

 

Supporting a Friend or Family Member

Learn how to connect others to support services on campus with these free, interactive online training simulations.

To take the course, follow the instructions below:

Available Training (Click on the image to start)