Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start Your Research with Library Databases
Literary criticism primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
A premier literary database, combining Magill OnLiterature and Magill OnAuthors.
Full-text archives of 1400 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
The American Fiction, 1774–1920, archive contains more than 17,800 titles and encompasses prose fiction written by Americans from colonial times to the early twentieth century.
Contains encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
A comprehensive literature reference database, includes full-text biographical, bibliographical and critical content; antiquity to modern era.
Full-text criticism of drama, poetry and short stories.
Cross-search all EBSCO databases (over 30); magazines, journals, news and primary sources, and media, covering multi-disciplinary topics.
Educational films and documentaries grouped into subject-specific categories.
Films and educational documentaries, including the full collection of the Media Education Foundation.
Documentary films for college and university students
Read Current Issues of Magazines
Purdue OWL's Literary Theory and Schools of Criticism
Provides a good overview for some of the major literary theories.
Introduction to Modern Literary Theory
Provides a short background on various theories, offers keywords associated with the theory, and a bibliographic list.
Wikipedia: Schools of Literary Theory
Only use for overview and ideas. Avoid citing in your work and beware of unverified sources.
The John Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Overview of various literary theories (or schools) and major critics, Available in print: REF PN81.J554 2005
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory: Approaches, Scholars, Terms
Focuses on contemporary theory, history, and criticism. Available in print: REF PN81.E43 1993
Covers a broad range of criticism, inlcuding eco-criticism, cultural theory, and literature and sexuality. Available in print: REF PN 94.B47 2014