Library: ENGL 100 (Prescott): Start Your Research

Background Databases

Gale eBooks (GVRL Encyclopedias) This link opens in a new window
eBooks, encyclopedias, and specialized sources for research in almost all subjects.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A full-text scholarly reference collection on all topics, containing ready-reference as well as the resources of the Oxford Companions.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Our largest eBook collection with over 200,000 titles in a broad range of reference, scholarly, and professional works.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
A social issues database with full-text articles, viewpoint essays, statistics, topic overviews and websites.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Weekly Congressional Quarterly Press reports offering analysis of most current major controversial issues with summaries, pros and cons, statistics, and bibliographies.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Writings of over 1100 major American black leaders, covering 250 years of history. Authors include black teachers, artists, politicians, athletes, and war veterans.
American Mosaic: The African American Experience This link opens in a new window
A full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Largest collection of video online for the study of American history; 1479 video titles, including documentaries from PBS and archival footage.
Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window
A digital library on American and world popular culture, past and present.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive career research database with a variety of career exploration resources, industry statistics, interviews, and expert advice.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
News, information and jobs for college & university faculty members and administrators.
Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.