NUTR 120 (Hesse): Library

Some Good Starting Places

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture

1. Note the 3 volumes organized alphabetically.
2. I highly recommend using the INDEX to search for your term. Note the volume and page number because the index links may not drop you at the right place!
3. Make sure to use the citation tool!

Gale eBooks 

1. Try variations of search terms if initial search isn't good (e.g., bulgur instead of bulgur wheat).

EBSCOhost: All Databases

1. Great for magazine, news, and peer-reviewed research articles.
2. For your 3+ peer-reviewed journal articles check the "Peer Reviewed" box after doing a search.

Academic Video Online

1. If you get too many results add a keyword to your search (e.g., corn nutrition instead of just corn).

Robert Bond's Food History Resources

Websites

• Food Timeline: http://www.foodtimeline.org/index.html
• Wikipedia Food Portal: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portal:Food (​​​​Don't cite Wikipedia for NUTR 120!! But, you can skim the Wikipedia articles's citations/footnotes to get to more academic and scientific sources!!)
• A Historical Take on Food: http://www.rachellaudan.com

MiraCosta Library eBooks

• Food: A culinary history from antiquity to the present

This book focuses mostly on Europe. Excellent set of articles on a variety of topics.

• Cuisine & empire: Cooking in world history

This book is one of the best histories of world cuisine out there. The first part is organized according to religious tradition, while the modern period focuses on the globalization of food.

•  Food in world history

This is an excellent introduction to the history of food by one of the leading food scholars today. Chapter 1 is an excellent overview of pre-modern food history.

•  The Oxford handbook of food history

This handbook has many interesting articles on all aspects of the study of food. You might want to look at this handbook to discover all of the ways you can study food. For example, you can look at food and gender.

• Foods that changed history: How foods shaped civilization from the ancient world to the present
• Food history almanac: Over 1,300 years of world culinary history, culture, and social influence

The Food History Almanac covers 365 days of the year, with information and anecdotes relating to food history from around the world from medieval times to the present. The daily entries include such topics as celebrations; significant food-related moments in history from the fields of science and technology, exploration and discovery, travel, literature, hotel and restaurant history, and military history; menus from famous and infamous meals across a wide spectrum, from extravagant royal banquets to war rations and prison fare; birthdays of important people in the food field; and publication dates for important cookbooks and food texts and “first known” recipes. Food historian Janet Clarkson has drawn from her vast compendium of historical cookbooks, foodt exts, scholarly articles, journals, diaries, ships'logs, letters, official reports, and newspaper and magazine articles to bring food history alive.

• World food: An encyclopedia of history, culture, and social influence from hunter-gatherers to the age of globalization

This reference brings a fresh social and cultural perspective to the global history of food, foodstuffs, diet, cuisine, and culinary exchange from primitive human society to contemporary times. Comprehensive in scope, this resource covers the evolution of food production, distribution, trade, nutrition, and health, as well as such contemporary global issues as famine and food aid, farm subsidies, food safety, genetic engineering, and the organic movement.

• Books on Food History at the campus libraries can be found in the GT2850 section.