Skip to Main Content
LIBRARY

COMM C1000 (Natale)

Welcome to the Library!

We are here to support you with your research.

Questions? Email us

MLA Citations Communications Guide
Ask a Librarian 24/7 The Learning Centers

Keyword Development

Get better results by breaking your research topic into keywords and using related terms.

Example Topic: Benefits of Gardening

  1. Identify Key Concepts
    • Gardening: Home gardening, plant care horticulture,
    • Benefits: Well being, health, excercise
  2. Mix and match these terms when searching in a database
  3. Grow your Key Word List with:
    • words you read in abstracts, and article titles

 

Background Research

Background information is an important step to learn about your topic, and it can be found in reference sources like dictionaries and encyclopedias. These sources provide:

  • General information for context on your topic
  • Understanding of key concepts, terminology, and major issues
  • Insight into important researchers, theories, and debates in the field

Use the words you find in background sources to get ideas for future keywords!

 

 

OneSearch

Informative Speech

EBSCOhost

  • Hundreds of millions news, magazine, & scholarly journal articles as well as eBooks. I recommend searching with 3 - 4 keywords/search terms. The more terms you add, the less results you'll get (which is a good thing)!

JSTOR

  • Scholarly journal articles and chapters from (highly) scholarly ebooks from well-respected university publishers (e.g., University of California Press, Yale University Press, etc.). I recommend searching with 3 - 4 keywords/search terms.

Persuasive Speech

For Scholarly Journals/Articles I recommend:

  • EBSCOhost - make sure to limit to Peer Reviewed
  • JSTOR - has both Scholarly Articles and Scholarly Book Chapters

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

  • Pro/Con arguments about issues (called "Viewpoints"). Do keyword searches (1 or 2 keywords/search terms), or browse the MAIN ISSUES the database covers to find something that applies to your topic.

CQ Researcher

  • I have a love/hate relationship with this database. It has a fascinating history (I'll tell you sometime if you're curious). Some articles are dated, but if you find something recent that's on your topic they have excellent information.
  • I recommend 1 or 2 keywords/search terms; best thing to find are "REPORTS" which are lengthy articles and, specifically, look for the PRO/CON section in the report which features two individuals sharing differing perspectives.

Career Speech & Occupational Outlook Handbook

1. Check out the MiraCosta Library Career Research Guide

2. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics's Occupational Outlook Handbook is helpful and really cool!