Skip to Main Content
LIBRARY

Art 157 (Cluff) Spring 24

Pre-Knowledge Check

Pre Assessment- What are some of the benefits of using library databases for your research?
Provides access to quility resources for free: 2 votes (5.56%)
Provides access to time saving tools like citiation tools: 0 votes (0%)
Both: 34 votes (94.44%)
Total Votes: 36
Pre Assessment- Scholarly journals:
Provides in-depth analysis on a topic: 1 votes (2.44%)
Are written by experts in the field: 10 votes (24.39%)
Both: 30 votes (73.17%)
Total Votes: 41

Popular vs Scholarly

Popular vs Scholarly

Scholarly Sources:

  • Written by experts in the field
  • Published in academic journals, books, or conference proceedings
  • Rigorously researched and peer-reviewed
  • Includes citations and references to support claims
  • Provides in-depth analysis and contributes to scholarly discourse

Popular Sources:

  • Intended for a general audience
  • Often found in magazines, newspapers, and websites
  • May lack in-depth analysis and rigorous research
  • Provides a broad overview or entertainment value

Keywords/Search Terms

  • Try multiple searches--typing in different keywords (e.g. "figurative art", "body representation", "human anatomy")

  • Join multiple terms with "AND" & "OR" ("religious symbolism" AND sacred , deities OR gods, "ancestral figures" OR deities)

  • Use quotation marks around a phrase to do phrase searching (e.g. "social commentary" ; "art medium")

Google searching

Enter your search terms followed by site:.edu or site:.org to narrow down results 

For example:

Learn more tips and tricks for your Google searching!

Additional websites:

Citations!

Check out the library's MLA citation guide for examples, templates, videos, and more!

Post-Knowledge Check

Post Assessment- What are some of the benefits of using library databases for your research?
Provides access to quility resources for free: 11 votes (68.75%)
Provides access to time saving tools like citiation tools: 5 votes (31.25%)
Total Votes: 16
Pre Assessment- Scholarly journals:
Provides in-depth analysis on a topic: 1 votes (2.44%)
Are written by experts in the field: 10 votes (24.39%)
Both: 30 votes (73.17%)
Total Votes: 41

Databases

Log-in to the databases from off-campus with: SURF ID & SURF Password

Need More?

Check out additional Databases by Subject (Art & Design, or Culture).

Interlibrary Loan? What to do if you find the title of the perfect source but MiraCosta Library does not have it--Let us borrow it from another library (aka ILL) and deliver it to you. Free of charge!