Library: PSYC 101 (Olson Bermudez) SP25: Home

Introduction

Questions? Email Stacey at svonwinckelmann@miracosta.edu

“Quotation marks” keep words together "stress psychology"
AND searches all terms "stress psychology" AND workplace"
Truncation (shift 8 to get the asterisk) searches multiple variations of a word. stress* - stressful, stressed, and stressors at once

Empirical Articles	Literature Reviews
Based on original research conducted by the authors. Often include tables, charts, and graphs. Includes sections like Introduction, Methods, Results, and Discussion. Details how the study was conducted, including data collection and analysis. Provides specific information about participants, experiments, and data.	Summarizes and synthesizes existing research on a specific topic. Keywords like “critical,” "systematic," "scoping," or "meta-analysis" in the title or abstract, along with the term "review". Mentions combining data from several studies in the abstract. Discusses various studies broadly without specific data or experiments. Focuses on combining data from existing studies rather than new ones. Lacks sections like Methods or Results.

Empirical Articles

Literature Reviews

Based on original research conducted by the authors.

Often include tables, charts, and graphs.
Includes sections like Introduction, Methods, Results, and Discussion.
Details how the study was conducted, including data collection and analysis.
Provides specific information about participants, experiments, and data.

Summarizes and synthesizes existing research on a specific topic.

Keywords like “critical,” "systematic," "scoping," or "meta-analysis" in the title or abstract, along with the term "review".
Mentions combining data from several studies in the abstract.
Discusses various studies broadly without specific data or experiments.
Focuses on combining data from existing studies rather than new ones.
Lacks sections like Methods or Results.

EBSCOhost : All Databases This link opens in a new window
New interface! Cross-search all EBSCO databases (50+); magazines, journals, ebooks, news and primary sources, covering multi-disciplinary topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archives with thousands of scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
The Library's new OneSearch cross-searches various library collections. Use OneSearch to locate and access ebooks, articles, print books, DVDs, audiobooks, streaming media, and more.