Skip to Main Content

ENGL 201 (dara)

Essay 2 Assignment: Thinking Critically about Drama You ARE a Historicist/Cultural Critic!

Print books for ENGL 201 plays: the Oceanside campus Library is open Monday - Thursday, 9 am to 6 pm.

Other relevant play collections (books):

Background Reference Databases

Gale In Context: U.S. History

A complete overview of America's past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.

American Mosaic: cross-search

The American Mosaic allows cross-searching of ABC-CLIO databases: Daily Life through History, Pop Culture Universe, The African American Experience, The Latino American Experience, and The American Indian Experience.

History Reference Center (EBSCOhost)

U.S. and world history in full-text from reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books; history periodicals and primary source documents, biographies, photos, maps and video.

Literary Criticism Databases & Literature Reference Resources

Gale Literature

Literary criticism primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Includes formerly separate databases Literature Resource Center + Literature Criticism Online; and a robust collection of online reference books in literary studies.

Gale Literature Criticism

Full-text criticism of drama, poetry and short stories. Cross-search more literature resources in Gale Literary Sources. Tip: Be sure to use the Advanced Search. Scroll down to More Options and under Product/Series choose "Drama Criticism Online".

Magill OnLiterature Plus (EBSCOhost)

A premier literary database, combining Magill OnLiterature and Magill OnAuthors. Tip: Try an Advanced Search to focus your research.

Gale Literature Resource Center

A comprehensive literature reference database, includes full-text biographical, bibliographical and critical content; antiquity to modern era.

Literature Resources (Gale eBooks database)

This links you directly to Literature Reference books in the Gale eBooks database (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library / GVRL).

LitFinder

Includes poems, short stories, essays, plays, and speeches throughout all time periods (full-text and citations).

Literature: Critical Approaches (Salem Press eBooks database)

This links to several Critical Approaches to Literature eBooks from Salem Press, including approaches such as Psychological, Moral, Multicultural, and Feminist.

Literature: Critical Insights: Themes (Salem Press eBooks database)

This links to several Critical Insights about Literature Themed ebooks from Salem Press.

Article & Primary Source Databases

JSTOR

Full-text archives of 1400 scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Gale Primary Sources

Gale Primary Sources cross-searches multiple primary source collections, including Archives Unbound collections covering African American Studies, American Indian Studies, Asian American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, LGBT Studies, and Women's Studies.

Black Thought and Culture

Writings of over 1100 major American black leaders, covering 250 years of history. Authors include black teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other leaders.

EBSCOhost : All Databases

Cross-search all EBSCO databases (over 30); magazines, journals, ebooks, news and primary sources, covering multi-disciplinary topics.

Gale Databases (cross-search)

Cross-search a large number of Gale databases in one search, or select specialized subject collections for your topic research.

OneSearch

Use OneSearch to locate and access ebooks, articles, print books, DVDs, audiobooks, streaming media, and more.

Shortcut to Books

Search books all at once from MiraCosta Library's Find Books page.

  • Search for books using the play's title, the play author's name, or keywords of the theory you are researching.
  • Items that have the designation "Available Online" are eBooks that can be accessed anywhere.

Accessing Databases from Off-Campus

  • Use your SURF ID & Password to access databases & eBooks from off-campus.
  • Always start from the Miracosta College Library website to access databases. All library databases, A to Z list.